Werewolves… Just as mistreated as Vampires.


We did the Vampire’s yesterday. Since today is “W,” I figure why not go with the werewolves. They have been rather mistreated over the years by motion picture studios too. I specify Werewolves because they don’t make films about Lycanthropes very often and when they do they do it wrong. Lycanthropy isn’t just for Wolves. Lets stick to what society assumes though.

Lon Chaney. The Original!

Once again though 1913 was the year for the first Werewolf movie just like the Vampires. Seemed to have been a good year for monster movies. Then a bunch of duds 1935 saw Werewolf of London… not a good film but, easy to find and not the epitome of Werewolves either. Then came Lin Chaney in 1941 and The Wolf Man. He did for Werewolf Movies what Lugosi did for Vampires. Starring in five total Werewolf films one of which Was Abbot and Costello meet Frankenstein in 1948. The werewolf movies keep rolling in over the years nothing I loved really But I have seen most of them. One that stood out though even though it wasn’t the greatest.

I was a Teenage Werewolf.

I first saw this on an episode of Mystery Science Theater 3000. I was a Teenage Werewolf, it was funny as they made fun of it. For those of you who don’t know MST3K, they screen the film and mock it from the front row throughout. I watched it without the mocking a few weeks later and I liked this. Consider it a precursor to Teen Wolf. Movie Studios never really have original ideas. Unlike the Poor Vampires the Werewolves faired better in the 80’s at least, for the most part.

This movie scared me!

The 80’s did alright for the poor werewolves. Howling, American Werewolf in London. Teen Wolf was a bit spoofy.. I’m really ok with that though since I loved it, I’ll live. Then there was Wolfen… which scared me as well. Finally Silver Bullet… Based on a Stephen King Short story, This is my all time most favorite werewolf movie. If you haven’t seen it you definitely should.

Awesome!

Then came the 90’s with what i think is probably the very WORST Werewolf film ever. Jack Nicholson in Wolf. I’m in the minority here, I know. I went to see this in the theater very excited… and left pissed off. I’ll leave it at that. Ginger Snaps is fun to watch, Dog Soldiers was a very differnt take on the Werewolf genre, you should watch it. Underworld and it’s sequels… I have said my peace on those films, should have been claws and fangs.. not Machine guns.

Back to Basics.

2010’s The Wolf Man gave me some hope… Until I saw it… Maybe I’m to old now, but there was no sense of horror to it. I wanted to tense up in my seat and be frightened. I jumped once or twice but more from the loudness then being scared. It does give me some hope though… perhaps… soon. I can say this about the Twilight Movies… The werewolves in Wolf Form look cool! Other than that… Twilight is Trash.

3 thoughts on “Werewolves… Just as mistreated as Vampires.

  1. I know what you mean. In each movie, whether spoofy or horror related, the werewolf has been put into a negative light. In my own book, I took a different view of Lycanthropes and put a different spin on them in general.

    Like

  2. Great post, thanks.

    Like

  3. […] Werewolves… Just as mistreated as Vampires. (outsideperception.wordpress.com) […]

    Like

Leave a reply.

