I hate when people axed me a question.


You read that right… Axed me. This is simple a New York thing I suppose, it could be just a local thing. Having spent a few years not here though It drives me a bit crazy. I don’t want to be axed… truthfully I don’t want to be asked either but its preferable to being axed.

 

No I don't think this is a good idea. Do you?

t No I don’t think this is a good idea. Do you?

 

Mom is of course good for this, here is an example using several other things I have talked about on here.

 

“So I says to her, Let me axe you a question…”

 

This, of course makes my teeth itch, and no, that isn’t a good thing. Happens all the time here on the island though, people constantly axing people things. Apparently it isnt a crime… although it feels like one to me.

 

In most parts of the world someone asking if the can axe you a question would have some serious repercussions. Sure, it’s polite and all that but who wants a polite murderer.

 

Here's Johnny!

Here’s Johnny!

 

No, you cannot axe me a question. You can, ask me though. 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “I hate when people axed me a question.

  1. Today, I went to the beach front with my children. I found
    a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell
    someone!

    Like

Leave a reply.

